Something Old/Something New

Did that title make you think of a wedding? Well, that isn’t EXACTLY what I want to discuss with you today. What I do want to share with you is my “marriage” with my bullet  journal.

Okay, that probably sounded very strange to some of you, didn’t it? Well, I did try to go for a “wow” factor here to get your attention. Have you heard of this new phenomenon of bullet journaling? If you have, then you are already ahead of the game. For those of you that have NOT heard of it, then you might be amazed. Or maybe you will just yawn and move on. Either way, I wanted to share something with you, that I believe will change the way you see planning and organizing. Well, it did for me, anyway.

I am a writer. I write. I write everything! I am a list-maker. I journal. I take notes in my Bible. I have a notebook for Bible studies. I have a notebook for extraneous notes. I have a notebook with contacts. I have a notebook for each of my stories.

IMG_0637 IMG_0635

I have always wanted to be more organized in my planning and I have always loved to make lists – ask anyone that knows me. So the end of last year I got fed up with calendars and planners that weren’t big enough for me to put everything in them that I wanted. I did some browsing online and ran across a company that was charging, what I thought, was an exorbitant amount for a planner. There were sheets that could be downloaded and I took some of those ideas and made my own. I went to Walmart and bought a grid composition notebook and a roll of duct tape in my favorite color. I figured that I would be using the notebook all of the time and that duct tape would make it virtually indestructible. So I meticulously cut the tape and covered the entire cover, inside and out. I thought it was beautiful. Then I made a pen loop with duct tape and a paper clamp. It was a little tedious but in the end I was entirely satisfied!

OK – so I used this notebook and loved it. I did have some “issues” with it, but I figured that it cost me all of a few dollars to put it together, so I wan’t really out anything.

I think my biggest problem was that I was thinking too long-range. I filled out the whole notebook for the whole year. Then I got a brilliant idea and got tabs for the edges so I could find the right month. I was really loving this! Then I added some more tabs for the rear pages that held all of my contacts, blog post ideas, wish lists, etc. This was REALLY going to work for me.

But here was one of my problems….I had already written on many of the pages and couldn’t use them any longer. And I found I either didn’t like or need what I had already written. There was no turning back.

IMG_0631

I kept thinking, “I just have to get through the rest of the year and I can start over.” For the most part I loved my ingenious idea. I loved the size. I loved the grids and the spacing. I love that I could use my coloring pencils and stickers and washi tape to make it colorful. I loved it because I could wipe it down if something accidentally spilled on it. It was the perfect concept and I was so proud that I had thought of it all on my own! Or did I?

OK….I think I might need to add something in here….

I type fairly fast, but I prefer to write longhand. I love the feel of the pen in my hand and the way the thought flows from my brain, through my arm, to my fingers and out on to the paper. It is as much a part of me as, well, my fingers. I realize that many would not agree with me, but I guess that is one of the things that makes me unique.

So let me wrap this up for today. I have old ideas of a calendar, address book, notebooks, etc. (“something old”) and I was finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with it all. And then one day someone mentioned the words “Bullet Journal” to me and it sent my mind to reeling and my Pinterest page to flying! I was enthralled – even maybe a little obsessed. But I had found my “Something New” and now this marriage of those old and new ideas, running rampant in my brain, is taking over and forming something beautiful. Something I will discuss…next time….

And by the way, I know I mentioned a few terms that might be unfamiliar to some of you. Please be patient. I will post pictures as well as descriptions of some of the items in the next post. In the meanwhile, in the comments section, let me know if you want to learn some new ways to better organize your time or if you have been journaling.

Your friend,

Petra

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

