Reflection and Planning

Where has this year gone? Seriously, wasn’t it just last month we were complaining about the snow? Weren’t we just taking down the Christmas Decorations? Some of you might be feeling the same uneasiness that I do right now. Summer is here and before we know it, we will be planning the holiday events. It is a little dizzying, isn’t it?

I get a little sad thinking about all of the things that I wanted to accomplish and just never get around to them. I am frustrated by my inability to be realistic when setting goals for my year. I get remorseful thinking about the things the Lord has asked me to do and I have failed – yet again. This life, this frail, fleeting life is rough.

OK…this is a little deep for this early in the morning, I grant you. But I AM a morning person, much to the chagrin of my family and co-workers, and I happen to do my best thinking at this time. My creative juices are flowing and the synapses in my brain are on overload – now that the first cup of coffee has kicked in. So here is where I am going with all of this…..

……PLANNING.

I am a planner. I am an organizer (notice I didn’t say that I am organized). I love planners, and notebooks, and pens…OH MY!  I can never get enough. Combine that with my obsession of Pinterest and that is a recipe for ….SOMETHING….not sure what. But all I can say is my wallet cannot afford my obsessions. Come on….I AM a writer after all! Doesn’t a gal need notebooks?

Last year I wanted to satiate my desire for art, writing, and planning. I wanted to “create” my own planner and really USE it. I found the most expensive planners (just looked at them online, of course) and put a whole bunch of great ideas into ONE notebook. I thought I was being pretty clever. I spent all of about a week getting everything in to that notebook. I was so proud of myself. And I must say, I think I did a pretty good job for just throwing it together like that!

But here’s the thing…or a few things.

  • After a few months, I could see that the system I was using didn’t allow for the creativity I wanted to express.
  • I didn’t like the way it was set up.
  • There were lots of headers that I hardly used – most of them I never used.
  • I have wasted a LOT of space that I really wanted to use for something else, but I had already written on that page.

So, what I would like to do is spend the next several weeks going over my OLD system, showing you my mistakes, and then how I am GOING to to it. My goal in this is two-fold.

First, I want to show you, my readers, that we can ALL learn from mistakes. This life will ALWAYS have do-overs. Thank you, Jesus!

Secondly, I would like to teach you how you, too, can find a system that will work for you, if you take the time to figure out what you really need and want.

LESSON:

I am a writer and I tend to rush headlong into a project without REALLY doing all the preparation the way it is supposed to be done. Sure, I have an idea in my head and I may even write it out. But I get started with the story I am writing and I quit. Why? Because I didn’t take the time to really research and plan out and take notes and invest my time prepping. I thought I was smart enough, organized enough, talented enough, to just “do it.” HA!!! That is just setting myself up for failure, I have found.

But they will reply, ‘It’s no use. We will continue with our own plans; we will all follow the stubbornness of our evil hearts.’”
Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed.
Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.
The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty.

Prayer:

Lord, I have a tendency to continue to make my own plans without seeking guidance. Please forgive my lack of trust in your counsel. Please give me the wisdom to seek out godly counsel when called for, knowledge when that is called for, and You above all. I know that You are concerned for even the smallest details in my life, and that includes setting up a calendar/journal/planner as well as writing a book that you have called me to write.. Thank you for caring for me and being with me all the time. Amen.

So, will you join me on this little venture? Let me know in the comments section if you are wanting to do this with me. That way I will have some lovely faces to picture in my head when I start the blogs. Also, let me know if you are already doing some kind of journaling or planning and what system you like to use.

See you soon!

Petra

3 thoughts on “Reflection and Planning

  1. I LOVED this, Petra! Excellent read for starting my morning. Good for soul searching! I look forward to more posts from you. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Sounds good, Petra. As you know we talked about this. You are a planner and I am a…well at best a hopeful better planner? Anyway, I will try to keep up as I start to do a more organized makeover.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

