“Time Tzunami” by Danele Rotharmel

I will have to admit that I don’t “normally” turn to books in this genre. I don’t know if it is because I have been bucking my husband’s trying to get me to read his books, or if I have just gotten into a rut with my own reading. But I decided to give it a try and not only was I pleasantly surprised, but I was floored!

WOW! Was it ever great!

Time travel is not something I ponder in my spare time, but as soon as I finished the first chapter, I felt that it might actually be possible in my lifetime. The author does such a wonderful job in not making the reader feel ignorant or silly, but is able to make the intricacies of time travel seem plausible. I was half expecting to turn around and find myself in another time.

The main characters are so unique and have their special ways of communicating with each other. There is romance – and not the mushy, passion-filled kind. The romance is real and three dimensional. It is deep and pure. There is action/adventure. The main character runs from a bad guy and her hero rescues her – several times. The bad guy goes from bad to worse and the conscience of the main character, struggling how to best deal with evil, is so realistic. There is humor. I found myself giggling at slapstick kinds of humor, as well as laughing out loud at the quips between the characters. And of course, the time travel. Time travel and alternate timelines and cross-over alternate timelines. I love that the author got me to close my eyes and have to contemplate the complexities without overwhelming me with so much information that I had to put the book away.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Gil Montgomery, a cadet in the Temporal Counseling Program, can’t wait to pass her field exam and become a professional time surfer. The TEMCO program targets death-row offenders for time-based counseling while they’re children. For her exam, Gil will travel twenty-four years into the past to counsel ten-year-old Danny Winston before he murders his abusive babysitter, Rick Olsen. Preventing the stabbing should stop the chain of events leading to Danny’s eventual execution. Gil’s assignment seems simple until her advisor, Dr. William Ableman, learns that Rick is a serial killer targeting Danny’s mother. If Gil stays and protects the Winstons, she might not survive. William wants the woman he loves to be pulled from the field, but if Gil fails to complete her assignment, it will unleash a Time Tsunami and destroy the timeline. As TEMCO undergoes an emergency lockdown, and Gil’s fellow cadets try to figure out what’s happening, Gil and William learn the importance of faith and the price of true love. Everyone’s fate is resting in Gil’s hands, but does she have the strength she needs to defeat a ruthless serial killer intent on annihilating everyone in his path?

To purchase the book

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Danele Rotharmel grew up with a love of the literary word, and by age five, she knew she wanted to be a writer. However, her life took an unexpected turn when a mysterious illness brought her close to death. Eventually, she learned that a low-level carbon monoxide leak from a faulty furnace in her home was slowly poisoning her. This poisoning triggered severe Multiple Chemical Sensitivity and partial amnesia.
During this time, the hardest thing she faced was a crisis of faith. She had to quit her job and stop going to church. She couldn’t write, couldn’t drive, and could barely remember who she was. To say she was upset with the Lord was an understatement. She began reexamining her faith in light of her illness, and eventually, she came to the firm conclusion that God is real, God is good, God is interested and involved, and God is trustworthy regardless of tragedy.
When her illness became even more severe, she was put into quarantine and could only talk to friends and extended family through the glass of a window. This quarantine lasted for seven years. During this time, she wrote the first six books in The Time Counselor Chronicles.
Danele currently lives in Colorado where she continues to write. Although her journey back to health was long and difficult, it provided her with the opportunity to grow closer to God and to write her books. For that, she is forever thankful.
You can learn more about Danele by visiting her blog at https://dragonflydanele.wordpress.com/

Author interview

7 thoughts on ““Time Tzunami” by Danele Rotharmel

  1. Thank you so much for reviewing “Time Tsunami,” Petra! That was so nice of you! I’m so glad that you enjoyed my book! Thank you for all of your kind comments, and thank you for your encouragement and support! It really means a lot to me! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Great review, Petra! Seems like it’s unanimous, Danele! You’ve got a winner! How are you marketing? 🙂 Let me know if I can help 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow!! Thank you, Caryl!! I’m so glad that you think that “Time Tsunami” is a winner!! And thank you so much for your offer of marketing tips! I would love to hear some ideas! Thank you, Caryl!

      Like

Leave a Reply

